November 30, 2021
  • A federal court in Missouri blocked the Biden administration from enforcing a COVID-19 vaccine mandate for health care workers at federally funded facilities in 10 states. Missouri, Nebraska, Arkansas, Kansas, Iowa, Wyoming, Alaska, South Dakota, North Dakota, and New Hampshire are not subject to the mandate as the case moves forward, so long as the preliminary injunction remains in place. According to U.S. District Judge Matthew Schelp, CMS lacked the authority to implement the requirement. The case is one of four lawsuits challenging CMS’ rule, and argues that the mandate will exacerbate staffing shortages. (Articles here, here, here, here, and here)