June 10, 2024
Mental Health | Tea Leaves
  • The Department of Health and Human Services has expanded the Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) Medicaid Demonstration Program to include 10 new states: Alabama, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The expansion aligns with President Biden’s Unity Agenda and the administration’s efforts to address mental health and addiction challenges. The program offers sustainable funding to states to enhance access to mental health and substance use services, supporting the national strategy to transform the behavioral health system. Certified clinics must provide a comprehensive range of services, including crisis intervention available 24/7 and routine outpatient care within 10 business days, ensuring equitable, quality care for individuals with serious mental health and substance use needs. (Article here; Press release here)